Do DUI Lawyers Help?
Absolutely. A DUI is a Class A misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 365 days in jail and a $2,500 fine. Additionally, on the 46 day following the date of your arrest your Illinois Driver’s License will be suspended. The length of suspension depends upon whether you provided a chemical sample or not. It is possible to fight the suspension of your driver’s license. If you receive a conviction for a DUI your Illinois Driver’s License will be revoked for a year or more. It may be possible to avoid a conviction and to avoid the suspension of your Driver’s License. Hiring an experienced attorney can be the difference between a valid driver’s license and a suspended license. It is important to remember that a conviction for DUI will create a permanent mark on a driver’s criminal history as well as driving record. A knowledgeable attorney makes all of the difference in the world when you are fighting a DUI. See 625 ILCS 5/11-501, 625 ILCS 5/11-501.1 and 730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-55.
Return to: DUI FAQs