Underage Drinking/Consumption of Liquor by a Minor and Your Illinois Driver’s License

Illinois residents who are under the age of 21 and have been charged with possessing or consuming alcohol need to be mindful of the consequences that may accompany these charges. Pursuant to 235 ILCS 5/6-20 a person who is under 21 years of age who transfers, possesses or consumes alcohol faces a Class A misdemeanor. A Class A misdemeanor is punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a fine of $2,500 for each offense. Additionally, pursuant to Illinois Statute when a person is convicted of underage drinking the Illinois Secretary of State can suspend that person’s driver’s license even if the arrest or offense has nothing to do with a motor vehicle. When a person has been charged with Consumption of Liquor by a Minor it is important to remember that your criminal record and your Illinois driving record can be adversely affected.

If you or someone you know is charged with Underage Drinking or DUI it is important to hire experienced attorneys to protect not only your driving record, but also your criminal record. Contact Gruszeczki & Smith Law at 312-253-7343 for a free consultation today.

3 Moving Traffic Violations in 1 Year Can Lead to Suspension of Your IL Driver’s License

Pleading guilty to a traffic ticket or mailing in a guilty plea and payment on a traffic ticket can have serious negative consequences on your driver’s license. The Illinois Secretary of State has the power to suspend your driver’s license if you are found guilty or plea guilty to three moving violations inside of any 12- month period. These suspensions are mandatory.

Illinois Administrative Code 1040.30(b) sets out the general lengths of suspension by a point system. Read more »

Put an End to Bad DUI Cases with a Dependable Chicago DUI Attorney

Even if you’ve been tagged for driving under the influence (DUI) multiple times, you still need representation.
A study by the Alliance Against Intoxicated Motorists found that the Chicago police force nabbed 3,795 DUI suspects last year, compared with the 2011 tally of 3,037. When you’ve been flagged down for DUI but insist you’re still sober after having only one drink, seek counsel from a trusted Chicago DUI attorney such as Michael Gruszeczki or Dustin Smith of Gruszeczki & Smith Law LLP. Read more »

Hire a Chicago Attorney that You Can Trust with Complicated DUI Cases

In Chicago, operating a vehicle with a BAC or blood-alcohol content of .08 or above is already considered a DUI (driving under the influence) case, which can lead to your arrest. Even if the sobriety test result is under .08, you can still be detained as long as the police officer believes that your driving has been impaired due to intoxication. Even if you have been arrested and taken field sobriety tests and/or a breath, blood, or urine test, many defenses to your case may still exist. Read more »

Things to Consider When Hiring a Criminal Defense Attorney in Chicago

If you have been arrested or wrongly accused of a crime in Chicago, you need to get a good lawyer who will represent you all the way. Despite winning a criminal cases and getting charges dismissed- there are some situations where a client has legal options after the criminal case.

Sometimes the accused spends a significant time in jail before ultimately being found not guilty. In certain situations, this can lead to civil actions for wrongful arrest, with the potential for compensation. Read more »

Electronic Monitoring or Home Confinement in Cook County

Often times when a defendant in a criminal case is released on bond by the Cook County Sheriff he is placed on Electronic Monitoring (EM).

EM is essentially home confinement. A defendant is issued an ankle bracelet and the Cook County Sheriff monitors the movements of the defendant 24 hours a day. EM can present additional hardships to the accused during the pendency of a criminal case. The Cook County Sheriff must grant a defendant on EM the right to leave his home for work, medical appointments, legal consultations and even funerals or other family events.

EM Details – What Your Criminal Defense Attorney Can Do For You

If a criminal defendant works in a single location then the Cook County Sheriff will require a letter from a supervisor indicating what hours the defendant works. If the accused must travel for work or works a job with ever changing locations, the Cook County Sheriff’s Office must be notified 24-48 hours in advance in order to grant a defendant permission to travel to jobsites. Often times, the Cook County Sheriff will request a Court Order from the Judge before allowing the accused to too much freedom for work related travel. Furthermore, a criminal defendant who needs to meet with his attorney must be given permission to do so. An attorney can send a request to the Cook County Sheriff detailing the time and location of the meeting. Generally, the Cook County Sheriff will honor those requests if they are given adequate notice. While EM is generally considered a better alternative to sitting in the Cook County Jail during the disposition of a criminal matter, it does present significant hurdles. However, most of these hurdles can be overcome with the aid of a knowledgeable attorney.